pastertoy.blogg.se

My passport wd for mac review
My passport wd for mac review













my passport wd for mac review
  1. #My passport wd for mac review portable#
  2. #My passport wd for mac review pro#
  3. #My passport wd for mac review software#

This was quite close to what Buffalo MiniStation Extreme logged (110 MB/s read and write). In CrystalDiskMark and ATTO Disk Benchmark, My Passport logged sequential read and write speeds of 114MB/s and 112MB/s respectively. We hooked up the 2TB My Passport to a USB 3.0 port and ran a battery of tests to assess the read and write speeds.

#My passport wd for mac review pro#

Power supply: Corsair Silent Pro Gold 800W

#My passport wd for mac review software#

You can specify the number of versions you wish to keep for each file and even tell the software to run backup when the PC is idle. You can choose from Category backup (Picture, Music, Movies, Documents etc) or File backup where you can select the files and folders you wish to backup. It allows you to backup the data on your computer onto the attached My Passport drive, and restore it on another PC or a fresh Windows installation.

  • WD Smartware: This is the most useful utility.
  • WD Drive Utilities: This utility has diagnostic tools (SMART status and quick self-test), Sleep Timer and Drive Erase.
  • WD Security: A utility to password-protect the access to the drive.
  • The software bundle (for Windows and Mac OS) comes loaded on the drive. The package doesn’t include anything apart from the USB 3.0 cable that measures a little more than a foot in length. On the side above the WD My Passport branding lies a USB 3.0 port and a tiny white LED that shows drive activity. The top surface has a dotted texture which lends an elegant look. The all-black shell sports a matte finish – thankfully, there are no glossy surfaces, which get stained too easily. 500GB drives (single platter) are slimmest at 15 mm, 750GB and 1TB drives (both using two platters) are 19 mm thick, and the thickest of the lot is the 2TB drive because it uses four 500GB platters. The thickness of the drive varies with the capacity because higher capacity drives use more platters. Measuring 111 x 82 mm, My Passport is about as big as a wallet and can easily slide into your pocket. Only the 500GB model is available in a white shell and the 2TB model is available only in black. As per the company’s website, the 500GB, 750GB and 1TB models are available in silver, red, blue and black colours. Western Digital My Passport is available in four capacities and five colours.

    my passport wd for mac review

    The highest capacity variant of Western Digital’s My Passport series uses one such drive.

    my passport wd for mac review

    Thanks to high areal densities, the latest high capacity drives sport an unbelievable diminutive form – for example a 2.5-inch hard drive with a whopping 2TB of storage space. To the rest, size matters most! Here, hard drives come into the picture because they offer a strikingly low price-per-GB. But that’s only for a handful of those who prefer speed over capacity.

    #My passport wd for mac review portable#

    SSDs packed in 2.5-inch USB 3.0 casings are the fastest portable storage devices.















    My passport wd for mac review